One Chapter Wonders

Sermon Series

Of the Bible’s sixty-six books, five books—Obadiah, Philemon, 2 & 3 John, and Jude—are only one chapter long. This summer, we’ll be looking at all five of them in a sermon series called, “One Chapter Wonders”. And, while the books we’ll be looking at might be small, they are filled to the brim with wisdom and Good News for us today.

These bite-sized books of the Bible are a great way to get started with reading your Bible. If you’re like me, it can be easy to get bogged down in the longer books that are filled with difficult-to-pronounce names and situations that seem far removed from our modern times. But these five short books are brief enough that you can read each them in their entirety in one sitting without getting bogged down in the details.

So often, we consume the Bible in chunks, so it can be easy to miss the context that adds color and meaning. Being able to read a book of the Bible in full is important because it allows us to consider the full scope of what the writer is trying to tell us. In Obadiah, for example, we could easily get caught up in the fire of the judgement God announces against Edom. By looking at the full book, we can see that Obadiah is about more than punishment, but that everything God does is colored by grace.

We encourage you to read along with us this summer as we look at these One Chapter Wonders—and hope you’ll find them to be inspiring and faith filling!

Listen to the Sermons

  • Obadiah

    Scripture(s): Obadiah
    Speaker: Pastor Kyle Doebler

  • Philemon

    Scripture(s): Philemon
    Speaker: Pastor Kyle Doebler

  • 2 & 3 John

    Scripture(s): 2 & 3 John
    Speaker: Pastor Kyle Doebler

  • Jude

    Scripture(s): Jude
    Speaker: Pastor Kyle Doebler